Quran

Arrival of Holy Family to Egypt coincides with Lailatul Qadr

Thu, 30 May 2019 - 11:33 GMT

June 1 marks the anniversary of the arrival of the Holy Family to Egypt and coincides this year with Lailatul Qadr (Ramadan 27 eve)

Regulations on worshipping at mosques in last 10 days of Ramadan

Mon, 27 May 2019 - 08:46 GMT

The Ministry of Endowments clarified regulations on Itikaf and Tahajjud.

Awqaf min. 608 mosques renovated in 2018

Tue, 18 Dec 2018 - 08:36 GMT

The Awqaf Ministry said that nearly 608 mosques were renovated in 2018.

Ancient Egyptian manuscript sold at Sotheby’s for £10,000

Tue, 30 Oct 2018 - 03:11 GMT

Sotheby’s Auction House in London presented an auction which included four Egyptian manuscripts.

Reader of al-Fatihah apologizes to Al-Azhar, ready for punishment

Sun, 22 Jul 2018 - 03:58 GMT

“I admit my fault and apologize to Al-Azhar and will not repeat what I did,” Araby said, adding that he was ready for his punishment.

Al-Azhar imam introduced to world's oldest Qur'an manuscript in London

Thu, 19 Jul 2018 - 12:10 GMT

Al-Azhar Grand Imam Ahmed el Tayyeb was introduced on Wednesday to the most ancient manuscript for the Holy Qur’an at his residence in Lambeth Palace, London

An ancient gold coin discovered at Abuqir Bay in Alexandria

Sun, 24 Jun 2018 - 03:13 GMT

A gold coin from the Islamic period was discovered by an Egyptian-French mission during an underwater excavation at Abuqir Bay in Alexandria.

Thursday marks 1st day of Ramadan: Dar al Iftaa

Tue, 15 May 2018 - 06:23 GMT

Grand Mufti Shawki Allam said that Thursday, May 17, will mark the first day of the Muslim fasting month of Ramadan.

Al-Azhar undersecretary denounces French call to ‘freeze’ Quranic verses

Fri, 27 Apr 2018 - 08:42 GMT

The proposal of 300 French imams to “freeze” Quranic verses is “unacceptable, unjustified, and indicate complete ignorance,” undersecretary of Al-Azhar Abbas Shouman said Thursday.

Evidence of protecting Christians’ rights, churches in Islam

Sat, 27 Jan 2018 - 05:26 GMT

Not only does Islam demand their freedom to practice religion, but also that they be treated justly and kindly as any other fellow human

Egypt allocates LE1 M for 2018 Quran World Awards

Sun, 24 Dec 2017 - 03:30 GMT

In solidarity with Jerusalem issue, the Ministry of Awqaf put “Jerusalem is Arab” as a slogan for the six-day competition.

Forbidden acts: Islam vs. terrorism

Sat, 25 Nov 2017 - 09:34 GMT

While those who have carried out this attack claim to do so in the name of Islam, it is Islam’s tenets that they transgress.

Barbie-like doll recites Quran verses

Wed, 06 Sep 2017 - 03:28 GMT

French businesswoman and mother Samira Amarir struggled to find toys which could help impart her Islamic faith to her young daughter.

Sufi troupe El Hadra to perform concert at 26th Citadel Festival

Mon, 14 Aug 2017 - 03:21 GMT

The Sufi troupe El Hadra will perform a concert on Thursday, August 14, at the 26th Citadel Festival for Music and Singing.

The world’s first e-Quran is here

Fri, 28 Jul 2017 - 09:30 GMT

Oman’s Minster or Endowments and Religious Affairs, Sheikh Abdullah bin Mohammad Al-Salimi, collaborated with founder of Decotype.

10 hadiths, Quranic verses that forbid murder of non-Muslims

Mon, 29 May 2017 - 10:52 GMT

Ten sayings of Prophet Mohamed and Quranic verses that address the persecution of non-Muslims.

More