FIFA Confederation Cup in numbers



Sun, 18 Jun 2017 - 12:20 GMT


Sun, 18 Jun 2017 - 12:20 GMT

Brazil players in FIFA Confederation Cup – Press photo via

Brazil players in FIFA Confederation Cup – Press photo via

CAIRO – 18 June 2017: The FIFA Confederation Cup started in 1992. Saudi Arabia came up with the idea and the first two editions were organized and hosted by Saudi Arabia.

FIFA took the responsibility of its organization in 1997, and the tournament from then on was held every 2 years. However, in 2005, FIFA decided to organize the competition every 4 years, the year before the World Cup tournament, to be held by the country hosting the World Cup the following year.

Here are the 10 most important Confederation Cup records:

1- Argentina was the first nation to win the tournament in 1992.

2- Brazil has won the competition the most times, being the champions of the tournament 4 times in 1997, 2005, 2009, and 2013.

3- Brazil and Mexico participated in the competition the most times, with 7 appearances each.

4- Fernando Torres, Spanish striker, is the only player to score a Hat-trick, 3 goals in one game, twice; the first time was against New Zealand in 2009 and the second was against Tahiti in 2013.

5- Ronaldinho, Brazilian winger, and Cuauhatemoc Blanco, Mexican striker, are the top goal scorers in the history of the FIFA Confederation Cup, scoring 9 goals each.

6- The tournament held in 1999 in Mexico witnessed the highest number in attendance with 970,000 fans cheering in the stadiums.

7- Cameroon is the only African team to play in the final.

8- Fahad al-Bishi, Saudi Arabian midfielder, was the first Arab player to score a goal in the tournament.

9- The Spanish 10-0 victory against Tahiti in 2013 is the highest score in a match in the FIFA Confederation Cup history.

10- Marcel Desailly, French defender, never lost a match with France in the Confederation Cup.



Leave a Comment

Be Social