With Egypt's support, FIFA members to choose host of 2026 World Cup



Sun, 10 Jun 2018 - 11:49 GMT


Sun, 10 Jun 2018 - 11:49 GMT

Morocco 2026 logo - Courtesy of Morocco2026 website

Morocco 2026 logo - Courtesy of Morocco2026 website

CAIRO – 10 June 2018: On Wednesday June 13, the world will know who will host the 2026 World Cup. FIFA members will choose between Morocco, which is advancing for the fifth time after 1994, 1998, 2006 and 2010, and a joint file from North America that consists of the United States of America, Canada and Mexico to host the World Cup after eight years.

It is expected that all FIFA members (211) will vote for the favorite host. It is the first time for this system as it was known that only FIFA committee members have the right to vote.

Africa supports Morocco to host the biggest football competition in the World except South Africa which announced its support to the USA. Also, Russia's officials alongside strong allies like France and Belgium, support the Moroccan file.

On the other hand, the North American file found support from all the countries in North and South American continents. Many reports claimed that the North American file is supported by FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

The 211 members have to decide on Wednesday who will host the 2026 World Cup as only one side will have the honor of organizing the World Cup by collecting 50 percent +1 of the total votes.

Morocco has so far secured 17 votes from Algeria, Angola, Belgium, Cameroon, Egypt, France, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Myanmar, Palestine, Qatar, Russia, Serbia and the Seychelles.

The North American file, guaranteed 23 countries' voting, included Afghanistan, Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Honduras, Jamaica, Uruguay, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe.

There are 158 associations that have not yet made their decision.



Leave a Comment

Be Social