4th AIWFF kicks off on Feb. 10



Mon, 10 Feb 2020 - 01:45 GMT


Mon, 10 Feb 2020 - 01:45 GMT

AIWFF - Social media

AIWFF - Social media

CAIRO - 10 February 2020: The fourth Aswan International Women Film Festival will launch on Feb. 10 at 7 p.m. in the presence of a large number of stars. The inaugural ceremony will be presented by Jasmine Taha.

The evening opens with the National Anthem, followed by a promo of the films participating in the festival, which will run until February 15, and then the festival’s jury members and activities will be presented.

The festival’s management dedicated the fourth edition to Nadia Lotfy in appreciation of her artistic contribution.

At the opening ceremony, Nelly Karim and veteran star Ragaa el-Geddawi will be honored, while the closing ceremony will witness the honoring of three female filmmakers, Rahma Montaser, Nahed Farid Shawqi and Leila el-Sayes.

The ceremony will be followed by the screening of "Be’lm el-Wosool" (Certified Mail), directed by Hisham Saqr, and starring Basma, Mohamed Sarhan and Basant Shawky.

The film revolves around a wife who is trying to confront and combat her suicidal thoughts alone, after her husband was incarcerated. The film highlights many aspects of women's lives in the Egyptian society through several characters representing different classes of society.

The administration of the Aswan Festival translated into Arabic the films participating in its fourth edition in the categories of the feature films, documentary feature films and short films. A total of 20 films have been translated so that the locals can understand the films, especially since dialogue is a major factor in the success of any movie.

The festival is keen on satisfying the audience in Aswan, especially after the great turnout witnessed in film screenings and workshops of the last edition.

Eleven films including two documentaries and an animation will participate for the first time in the festival's competition, in addition to eight competing feature films. Also, 20 films will screen within the short film category, including six documentaries, four animation films, and 10 feature films.

The Egyptian Film Competition Jury includes artist Salwa Khattab, director Sherif el-Bandari and director Maggie Morgan. The European Union’s Award Jury is chaired by Tunisian Dora Bouchoucha.



Leave a Comment

Be Social