NEA to announce results of parliamentary elections' 1st stage, Sunday



Thu, 29 Oct 2020 - 05:01 GMT


Thu, 29 Oct 2020 - 05:01 GMT

CAIRO – 29 October 2020: Egypt’s National Election Authority (NEA), called for holding a press conference, Sunday the announce the official results of the first stage of the 2020 parliamentary election.

NEA head Lashin Ibrahim said, Thursday, that they have received the results of general committees in 14 governorates, where the parliamentary election was held.

He added that some candidates filed complaints to the NEA bout the voting and counting processes.

The governorates included in the first stage of the parliamentary election were Giza, Fayyoum, Beni Suef, Minya, Assiut, New Valley, Sohag, Qena, Luxor, Aswan, the Red Sea, Alexandria, Beheira, and Matrouh.

The second stage will include the governorates of Cairo, Qalyubia, Daqahlia, Menoufia, Gharbia, Kafr El-Sheikh, Sharqia, Damietta, Port Said, Ismailia, Suez, North Sinai and South Sinai.

The first phase of the parliamentary elections kicked off across Egypt on Saturday, October 24, where polling stations opened doors at 9 a.m.  for voters to cast their ballot.

This phase of the voting process took place on Saturday and Sunday.

Egyptians abroad cast their ballots online on October 21 to 23. Envelopes of the polling cards are sent to the Egyptian Embassy in each country via mail provided that the voters attach copies of their IDs or passports to the voting cards.

 A total of 1,879 candidate are competing in 71 constituencies on the individual system, and four lists are assigned in the list system, 284 candidates are set to be chosen for the Parliament’s membership in the first stage of the elections in 14 districts of Giza, Fayoum, Beni Suef, Minya, Assiut, Wadi el-Gadid, Sohag, Qena, Luxor, Aswan, Red Sea, Alexandria, Beheira and Matrouh.

Candidacy for Egypt's House of Representatives elections were opened from September 17 to September 23.

During the Senate election held in August 2020, the number of the eligible voters reached 62,940,165 voters.





Leave a Comment

Be Social