Parliament approves ministerial reshuffle


Sun, 22 Dec 2019 - 11:19 GMT

Parliament Speaker Ali abdel-Aal at the House of Representatives - press photo

Parliament Speaker Ali abdel-Aal at the House of Representatives - press photo

CAIRO - 22 December 2019: The House of Representatives approved on Sunday nominations submitted by President Abdel Fatah al-Sisi to reshuffle some ministers in the government of Moustafa Madbouli.

The reshuffle was finalized during the plenary session held today.

In the cabinet reshuffle Khaled Anani was appointed as Tourism and Antiquities Minister, Omar Marwan as Justice Minister, Hala el Saeed as Planning and Economic Development Minister and Rania el Mashat as Minister of International Cooperation.

The reshuffle also includes Osama Heikal as Minister of State for Information, Mohamed Manar Enaba as Civil Aviation Minister, Nevine Kabbaj as Social Solidarity Minister, Nevine Gamea as Trade and Industry Minister, El Sayed Quseir as Agriculture and Land Reclamation Minister and Alaa El Din Abul Hassan as Minister for Parliamentary Councils Affairs.

A special session took place at 9:00 am local time (GMT+2) at the office of Ali Abdel-Al, speaker of the House of Representatives, to finalize all final arrangements before submitting the ministerial amendment to the parliament session.

According to Article (147) of the Egyptian constitution, the President of the Republic may conduct a cabinet reshuffle after consultation with the Prime Minister and approval of the House of Representatives by an absolute majority of the members present, which must not be less than one-third of its members.



Leave a Comment

Recommend Article

Be Social