IMO elects Egypt for 2018-2019 membership



Sat, 02 Dec 2017 - 07:28 GMT


Sat, 02 Dec 2017 - 07:28 GMT

IMO Headquarters – International Maritime Organization / Flickr

IMO Headquarters – International Maritime Organization / Flickr

CAIRO – 2 December 2017: Egypt won the category C membership of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) Council, for the years 2018-2019, with 133 of 158 votes.

Foreign Ministry spokesman, Ahmed Abu Zeid, said on Friday that Egypt had received more votes this year than in any other IMO election held in previous years.

Abu Zeid added that it reflects the global appreciation of the Egyptian role in the field of maritime transport, especially the New Suez Canal project.

SUEZ CANAL – The aircraft carrier USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69) transits the Suez Canal, March 16, 2014 – Flickr / Official U.S. Navy Page

Minister of Transportation, Hisham Arafat, said in an interview with Extra News, “Egypt moved from the seventh position in the last election to the sixth. This progress reflects the efforts of the current political leadership and the government.”

“We are looking forward to running the next election with a Permanent Representative to (IMO), where we can take place in all various activities related to maritime transport,” Arafat added.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) won the category B membership, the first Arab country to achieve that category; meanwhile, Argentina and Bangladesh lost their seats in the category.

The Maritime Executive published the newly elected countries for the years 2018-2019 under the three categories of the IMO:

- Category A: China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States.

- Category B: Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates.

- Category C: Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey.

The (IMO) is a United Nations (UN) agency that regulates the shipping industry worldwide.

Egypt won the (IMO) election held in November 2015 for the first time in its history, for the years 2016-2017, with 130 of 154 votes.

The IMO council has three categories consisting of forty countries; category A includes the first ten countries with interest in providing international shipping services, while category B represents 10 other nations with the largest interest in international seaborne trade, and finally category C includes the remaining twenty countries with special interests in maritime transport or navigation.



Leave a Comment

Be Social