Diaa Rashwan elected Journalists Syndicate head with 1965 votes



Fri, 02 Apr 2021 - 11:19 GMT


Fri, 02 Apr 2021 - 11:19 GMT


CAIRO – 2 April 2021: Diaa Rashwan, elected, Friday, head of the Egypt’s Press Syndicate with 1965 votes out of 3343 in the midterm elections that was held amid high precaution measures for Coronaviruses pandemic.

Members elected for board seats were: Muhammad Kharaga, 1388 votes, Ibrahim Abu Kaileh 1277 votes, Hussein Zanati 1,201 votes, Ayman Abdel Majeed 1864 votes, Doaa Al-Najjar 1078 votes and Mohammed Saad Abdel Hafeez 1045 votes.

Rashwan, 60, served as head of the Press Syndicate from 2013 to 2015 and was again reelected in 2019.

He has been a strong opposer to the government of late Muslim Brotherhood leader and President Mohamed Morsi and a strong supporter to the 2013 Revolution that ousted the president.

He also took part in the 50-member constitution committee in 2013 to draft Egypt's current constitution.

Rashwan competed with six candidates on the syndicate head post, while 55 candidates competed for board seats.

The syndicate earlier ordered adjourning its midterm elections to April 2 instead of March 19 and holding them in the open air in Cairo amid coronavirus concerns.

The adjournment comes after authorities refused its request to hold the elections in a large tent outside its headquarters in Abdel Khalek Tharwat street, downtown Cairo.

The Syndicate believed that holding elections inside its premises in accordance with the law poses a major threat to the safety and health of the voters due to the pandemic.

This adjournment also came after a preventive medicine report from the Health Ministry affirmed that precautionary measures against coronavirus cannot be followed in the elections inside the syndicate’s headquarters.

The midterm vote of the Syndicate is held every two years for a new head and half of the board members (six out of 12). There are 8,861 eligible voting members.





Leave a Comment

Be Social