AFCON: Uganda announces preliminary squad


Wed, 22 May 2019 - 01:01 GMT

Uganda manager, Sebastien Desabre, photo by  Michael Nsubuga

Uganda manager, Sebastien Desabre, photo by Michael Nsubuga

CAIRO – 22 May 2019: Smouha’s Derrick Nsibambi and veteran goalkeeper, Denis Onyango, led Uganda’s provisional squad for 2019 African Cup of Nations.

Uganda national team manager, Sebastien Desabre, announced the preliminary list that will travel to Abu Dhabi to participate at the training camp ahead of the competition.

The team will play two friendly games in Abu Dhabi and Desabre will reduce the squad to 23 players that will fly to Egypt to participate at the tournament.

Desabre’s chosen squad consists of:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal), Robert Odongkara (Adama City), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC).

Defenders: Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC), Awanyi Timothy (KCCA FC), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (unattached), Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds), Murushid Juuko (Simba), Godfrey Walsumbi (unattached), Muleme Isaac ( FK Viktoria Zizkov), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe).

Midfielders: Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers FC), Chrysostom Ntambi Coffee FC), Lumala Abdul (Syrianska FC), Michael Azira (Montreal), Moses Waisswa (Vipers SC), Sadam Juma (KCCA FC), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica FC), Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy), Kateregga Allan ( Maritzburg), Emmanuel Okwi (Simba SC).

Strikers: Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC), Alexis Bakka (Carlstad United), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha).

Uganda plays in Group A alongside the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe and the host nation, Egypt.

The AFCON starts on June 21 and ends on July 19. The tournament takes place with the participation of 24 teams in six groups for the first time in the history of the African competition.



Leave a Comment

Recommend Article

Be Social