Egypt handed a tough group with Algeria in Arab Cup 2021


Wed, 28 Apr 2021 - 07:06 GMT

CAIRO, 28 April 2021: The Arab Cup Qatar 2021 draw, which took place on Tuesday, resulted in the Egyptian national team falling into Group D with Algeria, (Libya or Sudan) and (Lebanon or Djibouti).
The tournament groups that will take place in Qatar from December 1 to 18:
Group A: Qatar - Iraq - (Oman and Somalia) - (Bahrain and Kuwait)
Group B: Tunisia - UAE - Syria - (Mauritania and Yemen)
Group C: Morocco - Saudi Arabia - (Jordan and South Sudan) - (Palestine and Comoros)
Group D: Algeria - Egypt - (Lebanon and Djibouti) - (Libya and Sudan)
Egypt was in the second classification of the draw with UAE, Iraq and Saudi Arabia, and is participating directly in the tournament according to it being among the top 9 teams in the FIFA classification among the 23 teams participating in the tournament, whether from the group stage or qualifiers.
The champion and runner-up of each group will qualify for the quarter-finals.
Qatar is hosting the tournament to check on its preparations for the 2022 World Cup.
Egypt won the Arab Cup only once, in Syria in 1992.
And it won the fourth place in Kuwait in 2002.
Morocco crowned the title once, like Tunisia, Saudi Arabia twice, while Iraq won it 4 times.



Leave a Comment

Be Social