CAIRO – 17 February 2021: The Supreme Council of Antiquities has begun the restoration of Prince Sheikho’s Sabil in Al-Hataba, close to Salah El-Din Citadel.
Head of the Islamic, Coptic and Jewish Antiquities Sector at the Supreme Council of Antiquities Osama Talaat explained in a statement on Feb. 17 that the restoration work includes the mechanical cleaning of the façade and cleaning up the inscriptions and decorations on it.
In addition, recent encroachments have been removed from both sides of the sabil and an iron fence has been installed to protect it. According to the statement, work is underway and the project is set to be completed soon.
Talaat described Sabil Sheikho as unique; it is the only one engraved in the rocks on the edge of the hill on which Salah El-Din Citadel is built. It is also one of the rare examples, where the sabil is not attached to a mosque, school, gorge, a religious or civil facility.
It is worth noting that the Sabil was built by Prince Sheikho al-Omari al-Nasiri in 775 AH / 1354 CE.
Prince Sheikho is the great prince Seif al-Din Sheikh al-Omari al-Nasiri, named after Sultan al-Nasir Muhammad bin Qalawun. He graduated in the functions of the state until he assumed a great position during the reign of Al-Muzaffar Haji Ibn Al-Nasser Muhammad.