2nd Khairy Shalaby Award for First Novel announces shortlist on July 21


Wed, 21 Jul 2021 - 12:55 GMT

Khairy Shalaby Award - Photo via Iman Khairy Shalaby

Khairy Shalaby Award - Photo via Iman Khairy Shalaby

CAIRO – 21 July 2021: On July 21, the 2nd  Khairy Shalaby Award for First Novel will announce its shortlist, which opened for applications from February 1 until April 30.




The award in its second edition carries many developments. The first is a partnership contract with Dar Al-Shorouk to publish the winning work, which is scheduled to be announced in September.




The second was the abolition of the age requirement, which was among the conditions of the award’s first edition, in order to provide a greater opportunity for those who stumbled in publishing their first novels for one reason or another.




The number of works that met the conditions of the competition reached 57 novels that competed to enter the short list of the award, which bears the name of the great Egyptian novelist Khairy Shalaby.




The award requires that the applicant be of Egyptian nationality, that the submitted work of fiction has not previously been published, and that the work submitted is not under publication.



Leave a Comment

Be Social