Zamalek players pose ahead of their game against Al Ittihad at the League - Karim Abdel Aziz
Zamalek players pose ahead of their game against Al Ittihad at the League - Karim Abdel Aziz

Zamalek starts Arab championship journey against Al Qadsia

Sat, Aug. 11, 2018
CAIRO – 11 August 2018: Zamalek hosts Kuwaiti Al Qadsia in the 32nd round’s first leg of UAFA Club Championship at Burg Al Arab stadium at 07:00 p.m. (CLT).

Today’s match is the third official one for Zamalek’s manager, Christian Gross, who earned his first victory against Ittihad Alexandria 5-1 in the Egyptian League's second round after the first round’s goalless draw against Petrojet.

Gross included the club’s new signing, Ferjani Sassi, in the list for the first time since he joined the club last summer.

Gross’ chosen squad for the game consisted of Emad el-Sayed, Omar Salah, Mahmoud Abdel Rahim known as Gennesh, Mohamed Abdel Ghani, Hamdi Nagguez, Bahaa Magdy, Mahmoud Hamdy, Ahmed Fattoh, Hazem Imam, Mahmoud Alaa, Ferjani Sassi, Mahmoud Abdel-Aati, Tarek Hamed, Mohamed Antar, Youssef Obama, Omar el-Said, Mahmoud Abdel Aziz, Mohamed Hassan, Abdallah Gomaa, Ibrahim Hassan, Mohamed Ibrahim, Ahmed Madbouli, Mahmoud Abdel-Monem known as Kahraba, Kabongo Kasongo and Hamid Ahaddad.

Al-Qadsia is one of the best teams in the Gulf and they achieved the Kuwaiti Premier League 17 times, as the most winning club in the league.

About 20,000 Zamalek fans are expected to travel to Alexandria to support their team against the Kuwaiti side.


This year’s edition of the Union of Arab Football Associations (UAFA) tournament will be played with the home and away matches system, as it won’t be in one place like last year, when it was hosted by Egypt.

Five Egyptian teams participate in the UAFA Club Championship: Al-Ahly, Zamalek, Ismaily, Al-Masry and Al-Ittihad of Alexandria. Saudi Arabia will be represented with four teams: Al-Hilal, Al-Nassr, Al-Ahli Saudi and Al-Ittihad Club.


The tournament will include 32 teams. Thirty teams were already chosen and the other two teams will be determined after a qualification round, which will be played with the knockout system.

The champion will win $6 million, while the runners-up will win $2.5 million.

There are no comments on this article.

Leave a comment